Thank You 5,000 Times Over

5,000_posts

On April 2, my blog reached 5,000 views. I’ve published 59 posts since November 2011. The first one discussed billboard copy; my most recent post recounts how I lost a wheelchair one weekend. To date, the three most popular posts are Why We Love Oxymorons, In Praise Of The Oxford Comma, and On Fences And Letting Go.

Readers have come from all over the world. The largest contingents hail from the United States, the United Kingdom, and Canada. Lone readers have clicked in from Belize, Estonia, Papua New Guinea, and Zimbabwe.

What started as a forum about writing, grammar, and words has evolved into something more personal. On a good day, I hope the blog comes close to William Zinsser’s description of memoir: “a window into a life, very much like a photograph in its selective composition.”

The only thing better than writing the pieces is having you read them. Thanks.

6 Comments

A buss is not a bus! Congratulations, John!

Bravo!! You have a beautiful voice and no surprise here that people across the globe are connecting with it. Onward! xo

I noticed the photo of James Joyce on your gravatar—that is why I gravitated to your blog. Joyce was one of my favorite writers in my early 20s. I thought that DUBLINERS was the best collection of short stories that I had ever read.

Here is the only short story that I had published:

“High Plains Drifter”
http://hitchhikeamerica.wordpress.com/2012/11/11/high-plains-drifter-short-story/

Leave a Reply

Name and email address are required. Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

